Simply SHERLOCK

23 Jan

Ok, so following Catalina’s last post, I’ve decided to update the “Recommended Undiscovered Treasures” section-which is basically already  fully made up of British shows I like- by talking about SHERLOCK:

Don’t you hate it that English folks can survive a year on 3 episode “serieses”?? You’ve got to admire their patience and love for pure storytelling, not damaged by the laws of the big Hollywood industry. I realized some time ago that my affection for English comedy and storytelling (all the way here in Colombia) must come from an identification with their self-deprecating and sarcastic ways (and I think there is no negating those two characteristics); and as a modest admirer with still so much to learn, I can’t help myself from having grown up loving the stories of Sherlock Holmes – as you may have guessed by posts on the subject in relationship to House MD and CSI https://tvmoviesandgeneralignorance.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/a-study-in-premeditated-coincidences-house-holmes/                   https://tvmoviesandgeneralignorance.wordpress.com/2011/10/18/239/ . As a child, I loved trying to solve the mysteries and find the killers, but as I grew up I also started loving the nature of the character, until that became the whole reason, the case and mystery itself, the study of human condition. I’ve loved watching many different interpretations of the infamous detective both in film and television (including my beloved Dr. House), and still have many to watch, and I have been happy to find this new modern twist, simply named: SHERLOCK.

The show portrays Sherlock Holmes as a young man of the 21’st century that shares the basic characteristics of the original character, but has the advantage of living in the electronic era; his faithful companion Dr. Watson even has a webpage and blog set up to share their adventures. I have to admit that Benedict Cumberbatch, who plays the leading role, hasn’t been my ideal Sherlock, and maybe it’s just that his character’s ways are not of my complete admiration, but still, the show is more than enjoyable. It is an incredible twist to see stories based on well known tales, changed and modernized to be relevant in this new age that seems to have less patience for narration and time each day, that need every second filled with information coming from six different mediums at the same time. The show is witty and fast, well thought out, with complete well-rounded stories that, even though based on the tales of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, seem new and believable.

Sadly, until now there have been only two “serieses”, or seasons -as they are known in this side of the world- (one in 2011 and another in 2012), each made up of three 90 minute episodes, which is clearly too little for me. I guess I AM a child of my so-called electronic era, with no patience for  narration and time, that need every second filled with information coming from six different mediums at the same time; and for that I am truly sorry.

2 Responses to “Simply SHERLOCK”

  1. curiousitykitty January 23, 2012 at 4:32 am #

    As a Brit, a HUGE ‘Sherlock’ obsessive, and similarly a child of the electronic era, I wholeheartedly agree with you! After all, you can never have too much of a good thing 🙂 That is a saying, isn’t it?!

    Waiting for a year and a half (the first series was shown on the BBC way back when, early autumn 2010) for the second series was just cruel. Good thing I though this second run (particularly ‘A Scandal In Belgravia’) was even more enjoyable than the first lot – were you pleased with them, or let down at all?

    Anyway, shut me up, it was a fabulous post. Thank you!

    • tvmoviesandgeneralignorance January 23, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      Hey, thanks for the comment! I haven’t seen ‘A Scandal In Belgravia’! I Haven’t had the time! But I really ejoyed ‘The Hounds of Baskerville’. As I said, I found it refreshing that they could take the same subject and submit it through a makeover, and for it to come out looking like a solid piece and not jsut a mediocre copy. I think it was tough to include things on animal testing and genetic experimentation, because that can easily turn tacky, but it was a good choice and it set the perfect mood to create this contemporary Dartmooor.

      Thanks again for the comment!

Leave a Reply

