HOUSE MD the good, the bad and the UGLY of season 8…. HOUSE’s got a gun!…a REAL one

3 Dec

I know I’ve been lacking the reviews on the HOUSE episodes, but I’ve had work, and university, and family issues, and a sick dog and so on…. so anyway, here it is, I will review the last three episodes, making an overview of my opinion on them, without too much specification, since they happened more than 2 weeks ago.

 

The episodes where called “Parents”, “Dead and Buried” and “Perils of Paranoia”. So, the first thing I must say is that they have been getting more and more interesting as the season’s been developing. That meaning I think they have been entertaining. But before I go further into that, I will talk about all the things that keep bothering me and that have also become more evident in this last few episodes.

 

First, HAVE YOU NOTICED THAT THE INITIAL SYMPTOMS OF THE PATIENTS HAVE GONE FROM for example – THE BODY SENDING OUT INVOLUTARY ELECTRIC SHOCKS – TO JUST ABOUT ANYTHING BEYOND THE SNIFFLES . Im not saying that the patients in the latest episodes have not been seriously sick, but it seems to me like they are just taking any patient in and as the episode develops, their sicknesses become weirder. I mean, all of us HOUSE followers know that House doesn’t take a case to help someone in trouble; he takes cases that are a puzzle, that have no answer and that are not progressing as they should. But lately, they get patients with numb hands, bloody urine or migraines, who just happen to get worse once being treated by the team. So here I want to point a good thing that I saw in the last episode: in “Perils of Paranoia” they actually developed the initial symptoms of the patient, making it so House would be interested in it because all else has been ruled out by previous doctors. It’s as if the writers are perfectly aware of what they’re lacking and doing wrong, and they take each thing and try to address it in an episode.

 

-Im sorry, I know im all over the place today, but I have a lot to say and its all tangled up in my head- Concerning my last statement, I just mean that there are a lot of problems going on in that show and what bothers me the most is that I feel like everything’s planted. Like the stories all seem forced. Like they know what they are missing and are just trying too hard to give us what we want. But hey, can you imagine what it can be to have thought already almost 200 hours of teleplays, where you have to have an interesting unknown medical case that has to progress differently in each episode so as not to repeat yourself, and on top of that, you have to make the most complicated character ever, who doesnt like change, who doesn’t want to help himself, and make him actually DO new things all of the time. It must be awfully hard. So I don’t judge – well I do judge but I also try to understand- the thing is that in my opinion, if you cant to it well any longer, then dont do it at all. I ask you all to go to 10′:40” in this videoclip and listen to what Hugh Laurie says.

I think this is all we need to know, everyone is tired and if it is being said so out in the open then we should all really accept that this isn’t going anywhere but down, and they should probably use all their energy into making an awesome season and a great series finally and call it quits. INFORMATION ON HOUSE MD ENDING THIS SEASON WILL BE FURTHER DEVELOPED IN ANOTHER POST.

 

So going on, if there is something that has been bothering me quite a lot in these past episodes it is that everything is perfectly planned. It is awful: A case comes in that makes you evaluate parents so then everybody starts talking about dysfunctional parenting, Taub has to deal with the same theme concerning his two babies, and so on. And you can say whatever you want, but it wasn’t like that before and I can prove it if needed. They say that in storytelling, the story should develop by actions and putting up obstacles that need to be overcome, and that at the end, the final result should be a meaningful idea, enlightening even for the writer; if the writer knows what the powerful meaning at the end will be before the story lays out, then the audience will feel it as something planned, set up, as a SERMON, and that is exactly what has been going on.

 

Now, THE CLINIC! Yes, I was initially happy that the clinic came back, until I noticed that it has come back in much the same way as all I’ve been talking about. Yes, they were probably tired of reading hundreds of reviews saying that it was sad that the clinic had disappeared, so they decided to bring it back, in things that have no relevance what so ever to anything that is going on in any way, and has just been a way for us to see House being not only rude but disrespectful for no reason. Again, I can quote evidence if needed, I know House is a rude guy who has no problem in telling people off and pointing out their ‘stupidity’; and it is always so that apart from being rude, the only times House is actually disrespectful is when someone acts STUPID (by his criteria) or when he is so into a case that it just comes out. I have been outraged by the way the writers have made House act in this past episodes with some patients which I find hurtful and out of character. I know that jokes on fat and ugly people make the masses laugh and enjoy themselves in their own superficiality and feel better about their own insecurities (yes! im ANGRY) but it pisses me off that this show has downgraded itself to those sad pathetic jokes.

 

Check out minute 33:36, when he is in the clinic with the guy who thinks he has diabetes

HOUSE MD parents

 

And here, from 11:55 to just about 13:50, his dismissing of patients based on looks.

HOUSE MD perils of paranoia

 

Anyhow, it just bothers me. And to wrap this up because it has been going on for way to long, besides all this things that bother me, I do think that they have been getting “funner”. The cases have been intriguing and the relationship between House and Wilson has been beautiful.

 

Leave a Reply

