A lot to see on TV last week… HOUSE, COMMUNITY, HIMYM

14 Nov

Hello everybody. Today’s Monday and I think last week closed with a pretty good tv round up. Here are some things I recommend:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think that last week’s episode of How I Met Your Mother was the best this season. I had been thinking it had been a slow and awkward start to this season with Barney’s weird and out-of-nowhere love story with Nora, Kal Penn’s recurring role as Robin’s shrink and boyfriend, and the appearance of Katie Holmes on the Halloween episode. Really, the only thing I had enjoyed witnessing was the ducky tie that Barney had been forced to wear for a year because of a lost bet. Anyway, last week’s episode was great; it was told in three different time periods, as masterfully as only HIMYM can, with, obviously, old Ted telling his kids the story in the future, the gang discussing boogie boarding and ducky ties, and narrating a past event in the present, and the flashback to said event, a couple of months in the past. At the end of the day, it was not only a funny episode but also a cute one, with a nice, touchy story that didn’t go overboard on sappiness (which this show can sometimes go far too on). BTW, IMPORTANT course changing event at the end!! Beware!!

Community once again had a very strong episode, with the group all -except Jeff- helping Annie move in with Troy an Abed. At the same time, Jeff is being blackmailed by the dean to spend time with him on exchange on him not telling the group that he was faking sickness to avoid helping out. Trouble ensures, when Pierce is left alone on Annie’s old apartment and is electrocuted by his own stupidity. Back in the new house, Annie is quickly regretting her decision upon witnessing Troy and Abed’s weird antics first hand at such a close distance.

Aaaaand, the HOUSE episode wasn’t that bad! I know I’ve said that before so I don’t want to assume anything or get my hopes up with this, but I should recognize that it was a bit more entertaining. Taub and Chase are back! and they prove they were very missed. They bring some life back onto the show! A better dynamic and they push buttons only they can. I have never been happy with the extra attention given to Taub’s love life and, don’t get me wrong, I love his funny witted interesting character, but enough is enough. None the less, his twin paternity debacle was fun to watch. On the other hand, Chase was at his best last week, defiant and dedicated, and had a big part on solving the case. THE CASE! This week’s sick person was actually sick and had something at least relevant to chip in to the episode, which is a first for this season I think. All in all, as I say, I don’t want to give a lot of flare to this, but it was a nice episode. Consider this my HOUSE  review of the week, since I am still not satisfied enough to write more than this about it.

AND LAST… are you watching the x-factor? I am NEVER satisfied with what happens in singing competitions, but I keep watching them, cause I still enjoy watching the talent you get to see in them. This week was the third live show, and second public elimination of the top 12. The performances where really good this week and I just want to take the time to say that Rachel Crow, the little 12 year old girl (not completely sure about the age) is just amazing!!! I will later post some clips of the top performers.

Leave a Reply

