REVIEW! HOUSE MD 8×03 charity case

19 Oct

I know I’ve promised short House reviews in the past and haven’t delivered; buuut, I assure you, this one will be short. Why? The first reason is that I don’t have that much to say about it; the second reason is that I’ve had a hectic week and don’t have much time.

This week’s episode marked House’s official comeback. So, the new girl, Park, is working with him, and he has also conned the prison doctor into coming to help out with the case. At the same time, he’s been stalking 13 into coming back. The three girls all work with him to solve the case of an overly altruistic guy who is giving away money and free kidneys! In a very Houseian style, the good doctor is convinced that this is a sign of disease. Aside from that, House works in the clinic for a little while (it’s good to see it).

Last important part to know, all the girls are having their own troubles during the case. Park is having an ongoing discussion with the ex-prison-doctor over the importance of selfless acts. The ex-prison-doctor (YES, I admit I haven’t learned her name and am not even taking the time to look it up) …. CUTE ex- prison- doctor…  is coming to terms with the very idea of working with House and his methods (as expected), and 13 is debating with herself throughout the whole thing if she should actually come back or not. It’s no secret that Olivia Wilde left the show this week, but I won’t ruin the bit of surprise left for those who haven’t seen it, by telling you how it happened. What I can say is that 13’s goodbye was the best thing in the episode (FOR ME). I thought it was real, truthful and meaningful without forgetting the nature of two very stubborn and closed up characters: House and 13.

Ok, so in general terms, I thought it was just a plain ol’ House episode; which I don’t necessarily see as a bad thing. There was a case that was ok, as some we have already seen. We saw a little bit of the clinic which is always nice; and we saw internal conflicts between House’s team. What was the matter with all that? That the case in the clinic could just as well have been replaced for a scene of a dog peeing on a bush… it had no relevance what so ever. Both the thing in the clinic and the case seemed like stuff we have seen before (remember the season 4 episode with the overly nice guy, or the clinic case of a while back of a mother who brought in her little girl for what she thought were seizures ¬¬) and that didn’t even leave anything new from them. They were just there. Why do I say it wasn’t that bad? Because in my opinion it at least shows they are trying to get back into familiar territory, and that may be a good sign.

So what does this all mean? That I’m still waiting for my wow moment. I keep saying I see hope and I just hope there will be some payoff at the end.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Responses to “REVIEW! HOUSE MD 8×03 charity case”

  1. juliatovar October 24, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    ya lo vi, y sí, me gustó mucho la interacción entre 13 y house, y sí, a parte de eso, me pareció un capítulo hecho a punta de pedazos de otros capítulos… un poquito de cada temporada para recordarnos que hay cosas que nos gustan, que de pronto se nos olvidó que ya habíamos visto. Me sigo sintiendo un poco insultada por los creadores, pero hubo pedazos divertidos. Otro pedazo del que no hablaste fue el de la interacción entre la chinita y la otra vieja… detesto a la otra vieja, pero la chinita me parece divertida. Y en fin, un comentario que no aporta nada, porque estoy volviendo a decir todo lo que dijiste, pero para que sepas que estoy de acuerdo (: jaja

  2. juliatovar October 24, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    ah, y otra cosa! ahora si está perfecto el nuevo diseño del blog

  3. tvmoviesandgeneralignorance October 24, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    jaja great Yulai.. thanks ! aaand I didn’t really talk about the thing between the two new girls because I only saw it once, didn’t take any kind of notes and that was completely uninteresting to me ha ha ha… so when I wrote this, I didn’t even remember the details of the dispute (apart from the fact that the prison-doctor [still dont remember her name] just looks and acts more like Cameron with every pasing second)

Leave a Reply

